Tulip Bulbs Using No Dig

Home Forums No dig gardening Preparing the ground Tulip Bulbs Using No Dig

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Don Foley 1 year, 9 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Amy
    Participant

Hello! I’m new to the idea of no dig, and I’m very interested! I am in the midst of creating beds for cut flowers, including bulbs. Typically, most growers would dig down about 6 inches, place bulbs and any amendments, and then cover back up with soil and then compost. How would I go about this process using no dig? would I simply place the bulbs at ground level and then layer on 6 inches of compost (which can be quite costly for one who needs to purchase compost)? Looking forward to responses as I’m having a hard time finding fellow flower growers who use no dig.

Thanks! Amy Williams, aspiring organic flower farmer : )

charles

Amy, nice to hear from you, and good timing.
    I was just advising Organic Blooms on no dig, here is their blog about where they want to go with it.
    An exciting project and Jo Wright is the person to contact.
    No dig does not men you cannot make planting holes!
    Just don’t disturb soil unnecessarily.
    Use a trowel as normal, into undisturbed soil and the compost mulch, however thick or thin, is on top.
    That is it.
    Many flower growers are using no dig, check on Twitter.

Amy
    Participant

Charles, thank you so much for your response and advice. I am incredibly fascinated by the no dig process and results and I very much appreciate your efforts in sharing your knowledge! Thank you for the blog link, I will definitely look into it!

Don Foley
    Participant

Hi Amy,

I’ve just put in 250 Narcissus Pseudonarcissus Obvallaris and 100 Crocus along the back of a 30′ No-Dig Herbaceous Border.